2018-01171 - Software Engineer (M/F) - A Test Platform for Interacting with Advanced Histories of Commands

Contract type : Public service fixed-term contract

Renewable contract : Oui

Level of qualifications required : Graduate degree or equivalent

Fonction : Temporary scientific engineer

Level of experience : From 3 to 5 years

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Lille - Nord Europe Research Centre was founded in 2008 and employs a staff of 360, including 300 scientists working in sixteen research teams. Recognised for its outstanding contribution to the socio-economic development of the Nord - Pas-de-Calais Region, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe Research Centre undertakes research in the field of computer science in collaboration with a range of academic, institutional and industrial partners.

The strategy of the Centre is to develop an internationally renowned centre of excellence with a significant impact on the City of Lille and its surrounding area. It works to achieve this by pursuing a range of ambitious research projects in such fields of computer science as the intelligence of data and adaptive software systems. Building on the synergies between research and industry, Inria is a major contributor to skills and technology transfer in the field of computer science.

Context

The position is a part of the ANR project "Causality" carried by Mathieu Nancel.

The project will be conducted within the Loki research team at the Inria Lille – Nord Europe center.

Assignment

The recruited engineer will implement an online drawing application with advanced command history functionalities from previous work [1], as a test platform for research in Human-Computer Interaction (HCI). S/He will be involved in the design and implementation of the underlying structure of command history, as well as of the front-end's baseline (drawing) and advanced (history control) features.

Background

Histories of commands have been an ubiquitous aspect of most editing software for the last 30 years, but the features they provide have barely evolved beyond Undo and Redo, i.e. going one or more steps backwards or forward. HCI research has explored various improvements over these features, such as undoing commands that happened in a specified region of the document, undoing commands that are not the most recent, or creating branches in the command history to explore various alternatives. But these ideas typically remain “point designs” that are seldom implemented in real applications. We hypothesize that this is in part because no attempt was made to make them all work together: the corresponding research papers all implement data structures for storing the command data that are designed solely for the purpose of the presented technique, which often prevents other techniques—and sometimes even the basic and usual undo-redo features—to work.

In 2014, we proposed “Causality” [1], a conceptual model of command history that allows every history management and manipulation techniques to coexist, and more. The resulting data structure keeps track of all the information involved in the computation of a command's results (user input, application context, target data, outcome, and timings), as well as the connections between them. We also proposed new features that could be made available with such a structure built at the root of an editing application, such as altering the input of a previous command (e.g. the path of a brush stroke) or its parameters (e.g. the foreground color that was active for a certain time period), and solve the possible paradoxes that can arise (e.g. the command that created an object is canceled in the past, what happens to later commands that affected it?).

Task

This project consists in designing and implementing a working drawing application as a test platform, with such a history structure as its basis, to explore:

  1. the technical feasibility of the underlying model, including questions of complexity and time/memory performance;
  2. the best visualizations to communicate the extent of the enriched command history to users of various skills and expertise;
  3. the best techniques to interact with this history of commands and its various functionalities.

The painting application will have to be as reactive as possible and feature a realistic subset of painting functionalities: pixels selection, layers, varying brush shapes and sizes, opacity, blending modes, etc.
The history structure should allow every command to be replayed, and come with an API that allows to access, navigate, select, filter, and replay any command or command parameter, so researchers can explore new history features as well as the best way to use them and present them to users. The recruited engineer is expected to propose and explore solutions to optimize the time-memory tradeoff.

In order to facilitate experimentation with real users, and for cross-platform compatibility, the system should be usable online. We envision WebGL for the front-end, to allow advanced graphics manipulation without introducing too much latency, but the final technological choices will be decided with the engineer. One of the core requirement is that the resulting back-end structure and drawing front-end be easily extensible later on by researchers and students.

The recruited engineer will participate in the design of the data structure—turning a conceptual model to a workable application framework—and will be instrumental in its implementation and integration to a real set of drawing and image manipulation commands. If time allows, s/he will be invited to also participate in the design of interaction techniques to navigate and manipulate the history of commands.

The engineer will work with the researchers involved in the project, Mathieu Nancel and Stéphane Huot, and possibly with a PhD student later on.

References

[1] Mathieu Nancel, Andy Cockburn (2014). Causality – A Conceptual Model of Interaction History. ACM CHI.

Main activities

Main activities:

  • Requirements analysis
  • Solutions design
  • Implementation and tests
  • Deployment
  • Software maintenance and evolution

Benefits package

  • Subsidised catering service
  • Partially-reimbursed public transport
  • Sports facilities

2018-01171 - Ingénieur développement (H/F) - Plateforme de test pour interagir avec des historiques de commandes avancés

Type de contrat : CDD de la fonction publique

Contrat renouvelable : Oui

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Bac + 5 ou équivalent

Fonction : Ingénieur scientifique contractuel

Niveau d'expérience souhaité : De 3 à 5 ans

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe, créé en 2008, compte 360 personnes dont 305 scientifiques répartis dans 16 équipes de recherche. Reconnu pour son implication forte dans le développement socio-économique sur le territoire du Nord – Pas-de-Calais, le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe poursuit une démarche de proximité avec les grandes entreprises et les PME. En favorisant ainsi les synergies entre chercheurs et industriels, Inria participe au transfert de compétences et d’expertises dans les technologies numériques et donne accès aux meilleures recherches européennes et internationales au bénéfice de l’innovation et des entreprises notamment en région.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Ce poste s'inscrit dans le projet ANR "Causality" porté par Mathieu Nancel.

La mission s'effectuera au sein de l'équipe Loki du centre Inria Lille – Nord Europe.

Mission confiée

La mission consiste à implémenter une application de dessin en ligne avec des fonctions avancées de contrôle et de manipulation de l'historique des commandes effectuées par l'utilisateur, sur la base de travaux de recherche précédents [1]. Cette application servira de plateforme de tests pour des chercheurs en Interaction Homme-Machine (IHM). L'ingénieur(e) sera impliqué(e) dans la conception et l'implémentation de la structure sous-jacente d'historique de commandes, et des fonctions de dessin et de contrôle avancé de l'historique.

Background

Les historiques de commandes sont un aspect incontournable de la plupart des logiciels d'édition depuis plus de 30 ans, mais les fonctionnalités qu'ils offrent n'ont quasiment pas évolué depuis Annuler et Refaire, c-à-d avancer ou reculer d'une étape dans l'historique récent. Le domaine de l'IHM a exploré diverses améliorations de ces fonctions, par exemple annuler des commandes à partir de leur localisation dans le document, annuler des commandes qui ne sont pas les plus récentes, ou créer des branchements dans l'historique afin d'explorer plusieurs alternatives. Mais ces améliorations sont le plus souvent des "point designs" qui sont rarement implémentés dans des applications réelles. Nous pensons que cela est dû au fait que ces travaux ne portent que sur une fonctionnalité à la fois, et aucun effort n'est fait pour les faire cohabiter dans un même système : chaque article de recherche implémente sa propre structure de données pour enregistrer les commandes de l'utilisateur, correspondant uniquement à la fonctionnalité étudiée, et qui souvent empêche d'autres fonctionnalités d'être implémentées – parfois ces structures empêchent même les classiques Annuler et Refaire.

En 2014 nous avons proposé "Causality" [1], un modèle conceptuel d'historiques de commandes qui permet à l'ensemble des techniques de gestion et de manipulation d'historiques dans la littérature de coexister. La structure de données proposée garde la trace de toutes les informations impliquées dans le calcul des résultats d'une commande (input de l'utilisateur, contexte de l'application au moment de la commande, cible, résultat et timing de la commande), ainsi que des connexions entre elles. Nous avons aussi proposé de nouvelles fonctionnalités permises par cette structure de données, comme l'altération de l'input d'une commande précédente (p. ex. le tracé d'un coup de pinceau virtuel) ou de ses paramètres (p. ex. la couleur active lors d'une période de temps), et la résolution des paradoxes qui peuvent survenir lorsque qu'une chaine d'événements est altérée (p. ex. si j'annule la commande qui a servi à créer un certain objet, qu'arrive-t-il aux commandes qui ont plus tard affecté cet objet ?).

Mission

Ce projet va consister à concevoir et implémenter une application de dessin fonctionnelle pour servir de plateforme de tests à des chercheurs en IHM, avec à sa base une structure d'historique telle que décrite dans [1], afin d'explorer :

  1. La faisabilité technique du modèle sous-jacent, incluant des questions de complexité et de compromis temps-mémoire,
  2. Les meilleures visualisations pour présenter les possibilités offertes par ces historiques de commandes enrichis à des utilisateurs novices ou experts,
  3. Les meilleures façons d'interagir avec ces historiques de commandes et ses diverses fonctionnalités.

L'application de dessin devra être aussi réactive que possible et proposer un sous-ensemble réaliste de fonctions de dessin numérique classiques : sélection de pixels, calques, formes et tailles de pinceaux, opacité, modes de fusion, etc.
La structure d'historique doit permettre de rejouer chaque commande à l'identique, et offrir une API permettant l'accès, la navigation, la sélection et le filtrage de chaque commande et paramètre utilisés, afin que les chercheurs impliqués dans le projet puissent explorer de nouvelles possibilités de manipulation d'historiques et les présenter aux utilisateurs. L'ingénieur(e) proposera et explorera des solutions pour optimiser le compromis temps-mémoire.

Pour faciliter l'expérimentation avec des utilisateurs réels, et pour des raisons de compatibilité entre environnements, le système doit être utilisable en ligne dans un navigateur web. Nous avons envisagé l'utilisation de WebGL pour le front-end, pour permettre des fonctions graphiques avancées sans introduire trop de latence, mais les choix technologiques finaux seront décidés avec l'ingénieur(e). L'un des besoins principaux de ce projet est que la structure en back-end et les fonctions de dessin en front-end soient facilement extensibles plus tard, par les chercheurs ou les étudiants de Loki.

L'ingénieur(e) participera à la conception de la structure de données – passer d'un modèle conceptuel à un framework applicatif fonctionnel – et sera chargé de son implémentation et de son intégration dans un sous-ensemble de commandes de dessin et de manipulation d'images. Si le temps le permet, il/elle sera invité(e) à participer à la conception des techniques d'interaction permettant aux utilisateurs de naviguer et de manipuler l'historique des commandes.

L'ingénieur(e) travaillera avec les chercheurs impliqués dans le projet, Mathieu Nancel et Stéphane Huot, et potentiellement avec un(e) doctorant(e) durant le projet.

Références

[1] Mathieu Nancel, Andy Cockburn (2014). Causality – A Conceptual Model of Interaction History. ACM CHI.

Principales activités

Activités principales:

  • Analyse des besoins
  • Conception de solutions
  • Implémentation et tests
  • Déploiement
  • Maintenance et évolution du logiciel

Avantages

  • Restauration subventionnée
  • Transports publics remboursés partiellement
  • Installations sportives