2019-01283 - Boolean SATisfiability modulo Differential Equations for verifying chemical reaction networks

Level of qualifications required : Bachelor's degree or equivalent

Fonction : Internship Research

About the research centre or Inria department

Located at the heart of the main national research and higher education cluster, member of the Université Paris Saclay, a major actor in the French Investments for the Future Programme (Idex, LabEx, IRT, Equipex) and partner of the main establishments present on the plateau, the centre is particularly active in three major areas: data and knowledge; safety, security and reliability; modelling, simulation and optimisation (with priority given to energy).   

The 450 researchers and engineers from Inria and its partners who work in the research centre's 31 teams, the 100 research support staff members, the high-level equipment at their disposal (image walls, high-performance computing clusters, sensor networks), and the privileged relationships with prestigious industrial partners, all make Inria Saclay Île-de-France a key research centre in the local landscape and one that is oriented towards Europe and the world.

Context

This researchinternship is offered at Inria Saclay IdF (https://www.inria.fr/en/centre/saclay) in the LIFEWARE project-team (http://lifeware.inria.fr). This team works in computational systems biology and develops the Biochemical Abstract Machine (BIOCHAM http://lifeware.inria.fr/biocham4) software for modeling, analyzing and synthesizing biochemical reaction networks (CRNs) using methods from fundamental computer science and mathematics. The software developments are expected to be integrated in BIOCHAM.

The internship will be supervised by François Fages and Sylvain Soliman.

Assignment

Boolean SAT constraint solvers have shown outstanding performance for circuit and program proofing. The need to reason on data structures richer than Booleans has led to generalize them to SAT modulo Theories solvers, by combining SAT resolution techniques with other arithmetic or other constraint solving techniques, such as: programming linear, interval arithmetic, constraint programming.

In particular, the SAT solvers modulo differential equations, make it possible to reason about the continuous dynamics of a solution system of differential equations when the values ​​of parameters or the initial values ​​are not known precisely but are given in a range of values.

The following founding works

  • A. Eggers, M. Franzle, and C. Herde. SAT modulo ODE: A direct SAT approach to hybrid systems. In Proc. of ATVA'08, LNCS 5311, pp. 171-185, 2008.
  • Satisfiability Modulo ODEs Gao Soonho Sicun Kong Edmund Clarke. arXiv: 1310.8278v1 [cs.LO] Oct 30, 2013

led to implementations (eg dReal system) that proved accessibility properties in parametric hybrid systems.

These results are particularly interesting in the contexts of computational systems biology or synthetic biology, because in these systems the parameters of the biochemical reaction systems are not precisely known and subject to strong variations.

The subject of the internship is to evaluate these techniques in the context of chemical reaction systems compared to the bounded model-checking techniques implemented in BIOCHAM

Main activities

Our previous work on this topic is described in

The trainee will have the task of testing the existing SAT modulo ODE systems, and evaluating them on the examples of biological systems that we treat in the team with BIOCHAM.

BIOCHAM being interfaced to the solver SAT Glucose and being implemented in Prolog with constraints having the arithmetic of intervals, an integration of SAT modulo ODE is possible in BIOCHAAm if necessary.

Skills

This subject requires a pronounced taste common and basic knowledge in algorithmics, programming and numerical integration of differential equations.

Specific knowledge about SAT solvers, constraint programming, Prolog, or systems biology will be a plus.

Benefits package

  • Subsidised catering service
  • Partially-reimbursed public transport
  • Social security
  • Paid leave
  • Flexible working hours
  • Sports facilities

Remuneration

500 euros/month

2019-01283 - SATisfaisabilité booléenne modulo Equations Différentielles pour vérifier les réseaux de réactions chimiques

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Bac + 3 ou équivalent

Fonction : Stagiaire de la recherche

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre de recherche Inria Saclay – Île-de-France, créé en 2008, accueille 450 scientifiques et 100 membres des services d’appui à la recherche. Les scientifiques sont organisés en 35 équipes de recherche dont 26 sont communes avec des partenaires du plateau de Saclay.

Le centre Inria Saclay - Île-de-France est un acteur essentiel de la recherche en sciences du numérique sur le plateau de Saclay. Il porte les valeurs et les projets qui font l’originalité d’Inria dans le paysage de la recherche : l’excellence scientifique, le transfert technologique, les partenariats pluridisciplinaires avec des établissements aux compétences complémentaires aux nôtres, afin de maximiser l’impact scientifique, économique et sociétal d’Inria.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Ce stage de recherche est proposé chez Inria Saclay IdF (https://www.inria.fr/fr/centre/saclay) dans l'équipe-projet LIFEWARE (http://lifeware.inria.fr). Cette équipe travaille en biologie des systèmes computationnels et développe le logiciel Machine Abstraite Biochimique (BIOCHAM http://lifeware.inria.fr/biocham4) pour la modélisation, l'analyse et la synthèse des réseaux de réactions biochimiques (CRN), en utilisant des méthodes issues de l'informatique fondamentale et des mathématiques. Les développements logiciels auront vocation à être intégrés dans  BIOCHAM.

Le stage sera encadré par François Fages et Sylvain Soliman.

Mission confiée

Les solveurs de contraintes booléennes SAT ont montré des performances remarquables pour la preuve de circuits et de programmes. Le besoin de raisonner sur des structures de données plus riches que les booléens a conduit à les généraliser à des solveurs SAT modulo Théories, en combinant les techniques de résolution SAT à d'autres techniques de résolution de contraintes arithmétiques ou autres, telles que: programmation linéaire, arithmétique d'intervalles, programmation par contraintes.

En particulier, les solveurs SAT modulo équations différentielles, permettent de raisonner sur la dynamique continue d'un système solution d'équations différentielles lorsque les valeurs de paramètres ou les valeurs initiales ne sont pas connues précisémment mais sont données dans un intervalle de valeurs.

Les travaux fondateurs suivants

  • A. Eggers, M. Franzle, and C. Herde. SAT modulo ODE: A direct SAT approach to hybrid systems. In Proc. of ATVA’08, LNCS 5311, pp. 171–185, 2008.
  • Satisfiability Modulo ODEs Sicun Gao Soonho Kong Edmund Clarke. arXiv:1310.8278v1 [cs.LO] 30 Oct 2013

ont conduit à des implémentations (ex. système dReal) qui ont permis de prouver des propriétés d'accessibilité dans les systèmes hybrides paramétrés.

Ces résultats sont particulièrement intéressants dans les contextes de la biologie calculatoire des systèmes ou de la biologie synthétique, car dans ces systèmes les paramètres des systèmes de réactions biochimiques ne sont pas connus précisément et sujets à de fortes variations. Le sujet du stage est d'évaluer ces techniques dans ce contexte comparativement aux techniques de model-checking bornée implémentées dans BIOCHAM

 

 

Principales activités

Notre travail antérieur sur ce sujet est décrit dans

Le stagiaire aura pour mission d'essayer les systèmes SAT modulo ODE existants, et de les évaluer sur les exemples de systèmes biologiques que nous traitons dans l'équipe avec BIOCHAM.

BIOCHAM étant interfacé au solveur SAT Glucose et étant implémenté en Prolog avec contraintes disposant de l'arithmétique d'intervalles, une intégration d'algorithme SAT modulo ODE est envisageable dans BIOCHAAm si besoin.

 

Compétences

Ce sujet nécessite des connaissances communes et de base en algorithmique,  programmation, et intégration numérique des équations différentielles.

Des connaissances spécifiques sur les solveurs SAT, la programmation par contraintes, Prolog, ou la biologie des systèmes seront un plus.

Avantages

  • Restauration subventionnée
  • Transports publics remboursés partiellement
  • Sécurité sociale
  • Congés payés
  • Aménagement du temps de travail
  • Installations sportives

Rémunération

Gratification : environ 500 euros/mois