2019-01284 - Visualisation of biochemical reaction networks using static analyzers

Level of qualifications required : Bachelor's degree or equivalent

Fonction : Internship Research

About the research centre or Inria department

Located at the heart of the main national research and higher education cluster, member of the Université Paris Saclay, a major actor in the French Investments for the Future Programme (Idex, LabEx, IRT, Equipex) and partner of the main establishments present on the plateau, the centre is particularly active in three major areas: data and knowledge; safety, security and reliability; modelling, simulation and optimisation (with priority given to energy).   

The 450 researchers and engineers from Inria and its partners who work in the research centre's 31 teams, the 100 research support staff members, the high-level equipment at their disposal (image walls, high-performance computing clusters, sensor networks), and the privileged relationships with prestigious industrial partners, all make Inria Saclay Île-de-France a key research centre in the local landscape and one that is oriented towards Europe and the world.

Context

This researchinternship is offered at Inria Saclay IdF (https://www.inria.fr/en/centre/saclay) in the LIFEWARE project-team (http://lifeware.inria.fr). This team works in computational systems biology and develops the Biochemical Abstract Machine (BIOCHAM http://lifeware.inria.fr/biocham4) software for modeling, analyzing and now synthesizing biochemical reaction networks (CRNs) using methods from fundamental computer science and mathematics. The software developments are expected to be integrated in BIOCHAM.

The internship will be supervised by François Fages and Sylvain Soliman.

Assignment

The chemical reaction network formalism (CRN) is used to model biological processes at the cellular level. They explain the complex phenotypes as resulting from elementary molecular interactions. A CRN has a hypergraph structure (that is, a bipartite species / reaction graph labeled by a rate function) and can be interpreted at different levels of abstraction with different dynamics: differential, stochastic, discrete Petri net or Boolean.

Visualization of the structure of CRNs is not a well-solved problem today, and the automatic drawing tools are far from being able to compete with the manual drawings that modelers make in publications, and which show much better " logic "of the network.

Before performing simulations, however, many static analyzers can provide information on network inputs and outputs, dependency graphs, and influences, as well as on dynamic properties, such as algebraic or place-invariant invariants of the network. Petri net (set of molecular species whose sum of concentrations is constant), transition-invariants (set of reactions forming a circuit), etc.

The aim of the internship is to try to use this static information (calculated by BIOCHAM) on the network structure so as to define drawing strategies and to set up the visualization tools of the interaction graph (Graphviz) so that he produces automatic drawings close to the manual drawings found in the publications.

 

 

Main activities

Our previous work on some BIOCHAM static analyzers is described in

Sylvain Soliman.  Invariants and Other Structural Properties of Biochemical Models as a Constraint Satisfaction Problem. Algorithms for Molecular Biology, 7 (15), 2012.

The work will involve using this information to design and experiment with different species placement strategies and reactions in the GraphViz visualization tool. The evaluation can be done on the BioModels model warehouse by comparing the results with the drawings of the corresponding publications.

Results may be published in the Systems Biology Graphical Notation (SBGN) community

Skills

This subject requires common and basic knowledge in algorithmics, programming, graphs and graphics.

Specific knowledge of the the Prolog programming language or of Computational Systems Biology will be a plus.

Benefits package

  • Subsidised catering service
  • Partially-reimbursed public transport
  • Social security
  • Paid leave
  • Flexible working hours
  • Sports facilities

Remuneration

500 euros/month

2019-01284 - Visualisation de réseaux de réactions biochimiques utilisant des analyseurs statiques

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Bac + 3 ou équivalent

Fonction : Stagiaire de la recherche

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre de recherche Inria Saclay – Île-de-France, créé en 2008, accueille 450 scientifiques et 100 membres des services d’appui à la recherche. Les scientifiques sont organisés en 35 équipes de recherche dont 26 sont communes avec des partenaires du plateau de Saclay.

Le centre Inria Saclay - Île-de-France est un acteur essentiel de la recherche en sciences du numérique sur le plateau de Saclay. Il porte les valeurs et les projets qui font l’originalité d’Inria dans le paysage de la recherche : l’excellence scientifique, le transfert technologique, les partenariats pluridisciplinaires avec des établissements aux compétences complémentaires aux nôtres, afin de maximiser l’impact scientifique, économique et sociétal d’Inria.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Ce stage de recherche est proposé chez Inria Saclay IdF (https://www.inria.fr/fr/centre/saclay) dans l'équipe-projet LIFEWARE (http://lifeware.inria.fr). Cette équipe travaille en biologie des systèmes computationnels et développe le logiciel Machine Abstraite Biochimique (BIOCHAM http://lifeware.inria.fr/biocham4) pour la modélisation, l'analyse et la synthèse des réseaux de réactions biochimiques (CRN), en utilisant des méthodes issues de l'informatique fondamentale et des mathématiques. Les développements logiciels auront vocation à être intégrés dans  BIOCHAM.

Le stage sera encadré par François Fages et Sylvain Soliman.

Mission confiée

Le formalisme des réseaux de réactions chimiques (CRN) est utilisé pour modéliser les processus biologiques au niveau cellulaire. Ils expliquent les phénotypes complexes comme résultant d'interactions moléculaires élémentaires. Un CRN a une structure d'hypergraphe (c'est-à-dire graphe biparti espèce / réaction étiquetée par une fonction de taux) et peut être interprété à différents niveaux d'abstraction avec différentes dynamiques: différentielle, stochastique, discrète réseau de Petri ou booléenne.

La visualisation de la structure des CRNs n'est pas un problème bien résolu aujourd'hui, et les outils de dessin automatique sont très loins de pouvoir rivaliser avec les dessins manuels que réalisent les modélisateurs dans les publications, et qui montrent beaucoup mieux la "logique" du réseau.

Avant d'effectuer des simulations, nombre d'analyseurs statiques permettent cependant de fournir des informations sur les entrées et sorties du réseau, graphe de dépendance et influences, ainsi que sur les propriétés dynamiques, comme par exemple les invariants algébriques ou place-invariants du réseau de Petri (ensemble d'espèces moléculaires dont la somme des concentrations est constante), transition-invariants (ensemble de réactions formant un circuit), etc.

Le but du stage est de chercher à utiliser ces informations statiques (calculées par BIOCHAM) sur la structure du réseau de façon à définir des stratégies de dessin et à paramétrer les outils de visualisation du graphe d'interaction ( Graphviz) de telle sorte qu'il produise des dessins automatiques se rapprochant des dessins manuels que l'on trouve dans les publications.

 

Principales activités

Nos travaux précédents concernant certains analyseurs statiques de BIOCHAM sont décrits dans

Sylvain Soliman.  Invariants and Other Structural Properties of Biochemical Models as a Constraint Satisfaction Problem. Algorithms for Molecular Biology, 7(15), 2012.

Le travail consistera à utiliser ces informations pour concevoir et expérimenter différentes stratégies de placement des espèces et des réactions dans l'outil de visualisation GraphViz. L'évaluation pourra se faire sur l'entrepôt de modèles BioModels en comparant les résultats aux dessins des publications correspondantes.

Les résultats pourront être publiés dans la communauté SBGN (Systems Biology Graphical Notation)

 

 

Compétences

Ce sujet nécessite des connaissances de base communes en algorithmique, programmation, graphes et graphique.

Une connaissance spécifique du langage de programmation Prolog ou de la biologie des systèmes calculatoire sera un atout.

Avantages

  • Restauration subventionnée
  • Transports publics remboursés partiellement
  • Sécurité sociale
  • Congés payés
  • Aménagement du temps de travail
  • Installations sportives

Rémunération

Gratification : environ 500 euros/mois