2019-01313 - Post-Doctoral Research Visit F/M Design of the scientific libray that implements block Krylov subspace mehtod for the solution of large linear systems and eigenprobkems

Contract type : Public service fixed-term contract

Renewable contract : Oui

Level of qualifications required : PhD or equivalent

Other valued qualifications : Formation initiale d'ingénieur en calcul scientifique

Fonction : Post-Doctoral Research Visit

About the research centre or Inria department

An important force which has continued to drive HPC has been to focus on frontier milestones which consist in technical goals that symbolize the next stage of progress in the field. After the step of the teraflop machine in the 1990s, the HPC community envision the use of generalist petaflop supercomputers and soon coming exaflop machines in the 2020s. For application codes to sustain petaflop and more using a few millions of cores or more will be needed, regardless of processor technology. Currently, a few HPC simulation codes easily scale to this regime and major code development efforts are critical to achieve the potential of these new systems. Scaling to at this rate will involve improving physical models, mathematical modelling, super scalable algorithms that will require paying particular attention to acquisition, management and vizualization of huge amounts of scientific data.

In this context, the purpose of the HiePACS project is to perform efficiently frontier simulations arising from challenging research and industrial multiscale applications. The solution of these challenging problems require a multidisciplinary approach involving applied mathematics, computational and computer sciences. In applied mathematics, it essentially involves advanced numerical schemes. In computational science, it involves massively parallel computing and the design of highly scalable algorithms and codes to be executed on future petaflop (and beyond) platforms. Through this approach, HiePACS intends to contribute to all steps that go from the design of new high-performance more scalable, robust and more accurate numerical schemes to the optimized implementations of the associated algorithms and codes on very high performance supercomputers.

Context

This work will be carried out within the HiePACS team, which specializes in the design and implementation of high-performance software packages for large scale numerical simulations. Integration and validation will be carried out in collaboration with partner teams and the scalability will be studied via access to platforms in France and Europe. This mission will be carried out within the framework of a European project H2020 entitled PRACE-6IP.


Assignment

For many years, the team has been developing important algorithmic know-how for high-performance computing in libraries such as Fabulous (https://gitlab.inria.fr/solverstack/fabulous) for solving linear systems with multiple second members. These solvers have enabled our users to effectively solve linear systems of equations from applications for real 3D cases for parametric or inversion studies on a large number of processors.

The main tasks are application-oriented:

  • In collaboration with a team from LRZ (Munich) and Computation-based Science and Technology Research Center (CaSToRC) of The Cyprus Institute, partners of the European project, participate in the definition of flexible APIs and the integration of the library into major application codes of the project. Study the scaling up, identify possible bottlenecks and propose possible remedies.
  • Contribute to the development and integration of new numerical methods to improve the numerical behaviour of these solvers while reducing their memory and calculation costs

Main activities

  • Study and development of parallel linear solvers
  • Collaborations with the development teams to identify possible performance  performance
  • Participation in project progress meetings and writing of deliverables

Skills

PhD in computational science (applied mathematics, scientific computation or computer science).


High-performance computing and algorithms; parallel and distributed programming; numerical linear algebra; C++; MPI

Benefits package

  • Subsidized meals
  • Partial reimbursement of public transport costs
  • Possibility of teleworking (after 6 months of employment) and flexible organization of working hours
  • Professional equipment available (videoconferencing, loan of computer equipment, etc.)
  • Social, cultural and sports events and activities
  • Access to vocational training
  • Social security coverage

Remuneration

2653€ gross monthly

2019-01313 - Post-Doctorant(e) F/H Design d'une bibliothèque implantant des méthodes de Krylov simples et par bloc pour la résolution de grands sytèmes linéaires et des problèmes aux valeurs propres

Type de contrat : CDD de la fonction publique

Contrat renouvelable : Oui

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Thèse ou équivalent

Autre diplôme apprécié : Formation initiale d'ingénieur en calcul scientifique

Fonction : Post-Doctorant

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Les avancées significatives en terme de simulation numérique ont toujours été liées aux paliers importants franchis par les technologies du HPC. Après le seuil des machines teraflops des années 1990 et actuelles, la communauté scientifique se prépare  à utiliser de manière généraliste les architectures pétaflops et même exaflops dans les années 2020. Pour que des codes applicatifs puissent exploiter de telles puissances de calcul en utilisant des centaines de millions  de coeurs de calcul en passant effectivement à l'échelle, il est nécessaire de repenser les modèles physiques, leur modélisation mathématique et les algorithmes associés, ainsi que faire une mise en oeuvre permettant d'exploiter tous les niveaux de parallélisme de l'architecture. Le traitement des données pour ces simulations sera aussi un problème critique vue les tailles qui sont en jeu.

Dans ce contexte, l'objectif de HiePACS est de développer des compétences pluridisciplinaires de pointe en mathématiques appliquées et en informatique du HPC pour traiter des simulations frontières multi-échelles sur les machines petaflops et exaflops qui vont être disponibles bientôt.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Ces travaux seront réalisés au sein de l’équipe HiePACS qui est spécialisée en particulier dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de briques logicielles hautes performances pour des applications de simulation numérique. L’intégration et la validation seront réalisées en collaboration avec des équipes partenaires et le passage à l’échelle sera utilisée via des accès à des plateformes en France et en Europe. Cette mission sera réalisée dans le cadre d’un projet Européen PRACE-6IP

Mission confiée

Depuis de nombreuses années, l’équipe développe un savoir-faire algorithmique important pour le calcul hautes performances dans des bibliothèques telle que Fabulous (https://gitlab.inria.fr/solverstack/fabulous) pour la résolution de systèmes linéaires avec second-membres multiples. Ces solveurs ont notamment permis à nos utilisateurs de résoudre de manière efficace sur un grand nombre de processeurs des systèmes linéaires d’équations issus d’applications pour des cas réels 3D pour des études paramétriques ou de l'inversion.

Les principales tâches sont orientées vers les applications :

  • En collaboration avec une équipe du LRZ (Munich) et Computation-based Science and Technology Research Center (CaSToRC) of The Cyprus Institute, partenaires du projet Européen, participer à la définition d'API flexible et l'intégration de la biblliothèques dans des grands codes applicatifs du projet. Etudier le passage à l’échelle, identifier les possibles goulots d’étranglements et proposer d’éventuels remèdes.
  • Contribution au développement et à l’intégration de nouvelles méthodes numériques pour améliorer le comportement numérique de ces solveurs tout en réduisant leurs coûts mémoire et calculatoire

Principales activités

  • Etude et développement de solveurs linéaires parallèles basés sur des espaces de Krylov
  • Collaborations avec les équipes de développement en vue d'identifier les possibles goulots détranglement  des performances
  • Participations au réunions d'avancement de projet et rédaction des livrables

Compétences

Thèse en science computationnelle (mathématique appliquée, calcul scientifique ou informatique).

Calcul et algorithmique hautes performances ; programmation parallèle et distribuée ; algèbre linéaire  numérique ; C++; MPI.

Avantages

  • Restauration subventionnée
  • Transports publics remboursés partiellement
  • Possibilité de télétravail (après 6 mois d'ancienneté) et aménagement du temps de travail
  • Équipements professionnels à disposition (visioconférence, prêts de matériels informatiques, etc.)
  • Prestations sociales, culturelles et sportives (Association de gestion des œuvres sociales d'Inria)
  • Accès à la formation professionnelle
  • Sécurité sociale

Rémunération

2653€ brut mensuel