2019-02123 - Research Engineer F/M Analysis of traces of mathematical learning and prediction

Contract type : Fixed-term contract

Level of qualifications required : PhD or equivalent

Other valued qualifications : PhD

Fonction : Temporary scientific engineer

Level of experience : From 3 to 5 years

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée center counts 34 research teams as well as 8 support departments. The center's staff (about 500 people including 320 Inria employees) is made up of scientists of different nationalities (250 foreigners of 50 nationalities), engineers, technicians and administrative staff. 1/3 of the staff are civil servants, the others are contractual agents. The majority of the center’s research teams are located in Sophia Antipolis and Nice in the Alpes-Maritimes. Four teams are based in Montpellier and two teams are hosted in Bologna in Italy and Athens. The Center is a founding member of Université Côte d'Azur and partner of the I-site MUSE supported by the University of Montpellier.

Context

We are looking for a research engineer with a background in Semantic Web, Graph-based Knowledge Representation and Reasoning, Automatic classification, Recommender Systems to join the Inria Wimmics team to work within the collaborative project funded by the Ministry of National Education (MEN) as part of the PI IA market (https://eduscol.education.fr/cid118880/partenariat-d-innovation-et-ia.html).

This project is a follow-up to the joint EduMICS laboratory between Inria's Wimmics team and Educlever, where we developed a knowledge graph based on data from the Educlever learning platform, which integrates the pedagogical resources of the Educlever platform, including training exercises, their indexing to a thesaurus of knowledge and skills, and the learning traces of the platform's users, including their success or failure in exercises. We have shown how to implement the existing platform's functionalities with semantic queries on this knowledge graph and how to develop new functionnalities that exploit these new possibilities of representation and reasoning.

As part of the present project funded by the PI IA of the MEN, we wish to develop bricks for adaptive learning on the Educlever platform. To do this, we want to explore the possibilities of using the existing Educlever knowledge graph to adapt the learning to the user's profile and context. A first step will be to predict the learner's success in an exercise based on his or her profile and learning context. Ultimately, we aim to produce personalized recommendations of exercises, taking into account the learner's profile and context.

Assignment

The recruited person will be in charge of developing innovative prediction methods and algorithms based on the knowledge graph extracted from the Educlever platform. He or she will participate in the project monitoring and meetings with partners.

Main activities

The recruited person will focus on the following research questions:

  • Which features should be selected from the Educlever knowldge graph to best predict the learner success to an exercice?
  • Which machine learning algorithm should be selected for the prediction?
  • How should the system recommand adapted exercises based on the prediction of learner's success in the exercises?
  • How does the exploitation of Semantic Web models enable to improve the resource recommendation process?

Experiments will be designed in collaboration with the project partners in order to evaluate the proposed methods and algorithms.

Skills

Important skills are:

  • Knowledge of Semantic Web models and techniques
  • Experience on Graph-based Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
  • Experience in using Machine Learning libraries for classification tasks
  • Experience in using or designing Recommender systems
  • Interest for the domain of eEducation
  • Fluent English and/or French

 

 

Benefits package

  • Subsidized meals
  • Partial reimbursement of public transport costs
  • Leave: 7 weeks of annual leave + 10 extra days off due to RTT (statutory reduction in working hours) + possibility of exceptional leave (sick children, moving home, etc.)
  • Possibility of teleworking (after 6 months of employment) and flexible organization of working hours
  • Professional equipment available (videoconferencing, loan of computer equipment, etc.)
  • Social, cultural and sports events and activities
  • Access to vocational training
  • Social security coverage

Remuneration

From 2632 euros gross monthly (according to degree and experience)

2019-02123 - Ingénieur de recherche F/H Analyse de traces d'apprentissage des mathématiques et prédiction

Type de contrat : CDD

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Thèse ou équivalent

Autre diplôme apprécié : PhD

Fonction : Ingénieur scientifique contractuel

Niveau d'expérience souhaité : De 3 à 5 ans

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée compte 34 équipes de recherche, ainsi que 8 services d’appui à la recherche. Le personnel du centre (500 personnes environ dont 320 salariés Inria) est composé de scientifiques de différentes nationalités (250 personnes étrangères sur 50 nationalités), d’ingénieurs, de techniciens et d’administratifs. 1/3 du personnel est fonctionnaire, les autres sont contractuels. La majorité des équipes de recherche du centre sont localisées à Sophia Antipolis et Nice dans les Alpes-Maritimes. Quatre équipes sont implantées à Montpellier et deux équipes sont hébergés l'une à Bologne et l'autre à Athènes. Inria est membre fondateur d’Université Côte d'Azur et partenaire de l’I-site MUSE porté par l’Université de Montpellier.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Nous recherchons un ingénieur de recherche avec une formation dans le domaine du Web Sémantique, Représentation des Connaissances et Raisonnement, Classification automatique, Systèmes de recommendation, pour rejoindre l'équipe Wimmics d'Inria et travailler au sein du projet collaboratif financé par le ministère de l'éducation nationale (MEN) dans le cadre du marché PI IA (https://eduscol.education.fr/cid118880/partenariat-d-innovation-et-ia.html).

Ce projet s'inscrit dans le prolongement du laboratoire commun EduMICS entre l'équipe Wimmics d'Inria et la société Educlever dans le cadre duquel nous avons développé un graphe de connaissances à partir des données de la plateforme d'Educlever, qui intègre les ressources pédagogiques de la plateforme d'Educlever, notamment des exercices d'entrainement, leur indexation à un référentiel des connaissances et compétences, et les traces d'apprentissage des utilisateurs de la plateforme, notamment leur réussite ou échecs aux exercices. Nous avons montré comment implémenter les fonctionnalités de la plateforme grâce à des requêtes sémantiques sur ce graphe de connaissances et comment développer de nouvelles possibilités qui exploitent ces nouvelles possibilités d'expression et de raisonnement.

Dans le cadre du présent projet financé par le PI IA du MEN nous souhaitons développer des briques pour un apprentissage adaptatif sur la plateforme d'Educlever. Pour cela, nous explorerons les possibilités d'exploitation du graphe de connaissances existant pour adapter l'apprentissage au profil et contexte de l'utilisateur. Une première étape sera de prédire la réussite de l'apprenant à un exercice en fonction de son profil et son contexte d'apprentissage. A terme nous souhaitons produire des recommandations d'exercices personnalisées, apdatées au profil et contexte de l'apprenant.

 

Mission confiée

La personne recrutée sera en charge du développement de méthodes et algorithmes innovants de prediction à partir du graphe de connaissances extrait de la plateforme d'Educlever. Elle participera au suivi du projet et réunions avec les partenaires.

Principales activités

La personne recrutée se focalisera sur les questions de recherche suivantes:

  • Quels features sélectionner à partir du graphe de connaissances d'Educlever pour obtenir la meilleure prédiction?
  • Quel algorithme d'apprentissage choisir pour la prédiction?
  • Comment recommander des exercices adaptés à partir de la prédiction de la réussite des apprenants aux questions?
  • Comment l'exploitation des modèles du Web sémantique permet-elle d'améliorer le processus de recommandation des ressources?

Des expérimentations seront élaborées en collaboration avec les partenaires du projet afin d'évaluer les méthodes et algorithmes proposés.

Compétences

Compétences importantes:

  • connaissance des modèles du Web sémantique,
  • expérience de représentation des connaissances à base de graphes et de raisonnement sur ces représentations
  • expérience d'utilisation de bibliothèques d'algorithmes d'apprentissage automatique pour des problèmes de classification
  • expérience d'utilisation ou de conception de systèmes de recommandation
  • intérêt pour le domaine de l'e-éducation

Avantages

  • Restauration subventionnée
  • Transports publics remboursés partiellement
  • Congés: 7 semaines de congés annuels + 10 jours de RTT (base temps plein) + possibilité d'autorisations d'absence exceptionnelle (ex : enfants malades, déménagement)
  • Possibilité de télétravail (après 6 mois d'ancienneté) et aménagement du temps de travail
  • Équipements professionnels à disposition (visioconférence, prêts de matériels informatiques, etc.)
  • Prestations sociales, culturelles et sportives (Association de gestion des œuvres sociales d'Inria)
  • Accès à la formation professionnelle
  • Sécurité sociale

Rémunération

A partir de 2632 euros brut mensuel (selon diplome et expérience)