2021-03770 - Embedded IoT Engineer (M/F)

Contract type : Fixed-term contract

Level of qualifications required : Graduate degree or equivalent

Fonction : Temporary scientific engineer

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Lille - Nord Europe Research Centre was founded in 2008 and employs a staff of 320, including 280 scientists working in fourteen research teams. Recognised for its outstanding contribution to the socio-economic development of the Hauts-De-France région, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe Research Centre undertakes research in the field of computer science in collaboration with a range of academic, institutional and industrial partners.

 The strategy of the Centre is to develop an internationally renowned centre of excellence with a significant impact on the City of Lille and its surrounding area. It works to achieve this by pursuing a range of ambitious research projects in such fields of computer science as the intelligence of data and adaptive software systems. Building on the synergies between research and industry, Inria is a major contributor to skills and technology transfer in the field of computer science.

Context

The Inria FUN research group investigates solutions to enhance programmability, adaptability and reachability of FUN (Future Ubiquitous Networks) composed of RFID, wireless sensor and robot networks. Limited resources, high mobility and high security level evolving in distrusted environments characterize the objects that compose FUN. They communicate in a wireless way. To be operational and efficient, such networks have to follow some self-organizing rules. Indeed, components of FUN have to be able in a distributed and energy-efficient way to discover the network, self-deploy, communicate, self-structure in spite of their hardware constraints while adapting the environment in which adapting the environment in which they evolve. For additional information on the FUN research group, please see http://team.inria.fr/fun/

In recent years, Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) technology became the basis for radiolocation [1,2] based on distance measurement thanks to the robust estimation of the time of flight between mobile nodes (tags) and fixed nodes (anchors). Unlike RSSI approaches, as used in BLE for example [3,4], the adopted metric is more robust to multipaths and relies on dedicated electronics for clock synchronization and time-of-flight measurement.

Nowadays, it is an integral part of the IEEE 802.15.4 standard at the physical layer and its growth positions it as a new technology in future smartphones. Indeed, it will complement the existing Bluetooth chips by offering a precise distance measurement capability useful for example for tracking [5] (pandemics for example) or any other LBS type application (Location-Based Services). The manufacturer Decawave, the originator of the Scensor radio chips (DWM1000) introduced certified radio modules [6,7] exposing BLE and UWB channels in the same chipset while integrating the antennas.

This opens up new possibilities for the Industrial IoT (IIoT), not only in the industrial world but also beyond. Radiolocation based on distance measurements is a well-studied research topic [8], but we know that a unified approach, as is the case for GPS, is not available off the shelf and that in order to better use to benefit from technology, optimizations must be made to measure according to the targeted application context. In particular, this requires evaluating the performance of distance measurement in the context of the application and designing or even adapting radiolocation algorithms.

In this area, Inria holds two patents [9,10] in the field of radiolocation. The use of [10] would in particular be studied to implement all or part of the solution to the problem of mesh reconstruction by distance measurements.

References:

[1] Mendoza-Silva, G. M., Torres-Sospedra, J., & Huerta, J. (2019). A meta-review of indoor positioning systems. Sensors, 19(20), 4507.


 [2]  Ruiz, A. R. J., & Granja, F. S. (2017). Comparing ubisense, bespoon, and decawave uwb location systems: Indoor performance analysis. IEEE Transactions on instrumentation and Measurement, 66(8), 2106-2117.

[3] Thaljaoui, A., Val, T., Nasri, N., & Brulin, D. (2015, March). BLE localization using RSSI measurements and iRingLA. In 2015 IEEE international conference on industrial technology (ICIT) (pp. 2178-2183). IEEE.

[4] Jeon, K. E., She, J., Soonsawad, P., & Ng, P. C. (2018). Ble beacons for internet of things applications: Survey, challenges, and opportunities. IEEE Internet of Things Journal, 5(2), 811-828.


 [5] Nguyen, C. T., Saputra, Y. M., Van Huynh, N., Nguyen, N. T., Khoa, T. V., Tuan, B. M., ... & Ottersten, B. (2020). A comprehensive survey of enabling and emerging technologies for social distancing — Part I: Fundamentals and enabling technologies. IEEE Access, 8, 153479-153507. — Part II: Emerging technologies and open issues. IEEE Access, 8, 154209-154236.

[6] Module DWM100, Qorvo. url: https://www.decawave.com/product/dwm1001-module/ 


 [7] Simedroni, R., Puschita, E., Palade, T., Dolea, P., Codau, C., Buta, R., & Pastrav, A. (2020, February). Indoor Positioning using Decawave MDEK1001. In 2020 International Workshop on Antenna Technology (iWAT) (pp. 1-4). IEEE.

[8] Brena, R. F., García-Vázquez, J. P., Galván-Tejada, C. E., Muñoz-Rodriguez, D., Vargas-Rosales, C., & Fangmeyer, J. (2017). Evolution of indoor positioning technologies: A survey. Journal of Sensors, 2017.

[9] Localisation mono-ancre à réseau d’antennes dans un réseau informatique sans fil. Roudy Dagher, Nathalie Mitton France, N° de brevet : FR1552747. 2015

Assignment

The Engineer will join a dynamic team of researchers and engineers working on the development of an end-to-end IoT solution for the vertical of maritime transport that is nowadays challenged by the increase of the maritime transport capacity as well as regulation requirements pushing to reduce the environmental impact due to container loss in the sea. The envisioned solution leverages the use of a novel real-time auto-localization with automatic device-container mapping, useful to identify and locate anomaly such as a fire or a fall. 

The candidate will lead the hardware and firmware development of the IoT devices at the heart of the proposed IoT platform. This activity is at the core of the solution and combines the BLE Mesh networking and UWB ranging technologies for the network automatic localization in harsh environments with low cost and energy footprint.

Main activities

The candidate will be in charge of

  • Firmware development on top of an embedded RTOS exposing BLE and UWB stacks

  • Testbed experiments in the context of the FIT IoT-Lab platform

  • Outdoor experiments deployment, evaluation and reference dataset collection

  • Hardware prototype design, externalized production follow-up and tests

  • Gateway development for integration with the IoT platform in the cloud

Skills

  • Knowledge in wireless sensor networks and experience in one of the following protocols in the framework of the IEEE 802.15.4 standard: BLE, Zigbee, 6LowPan, 6TiSCH, UWB ranging

  • Strong Skills in embedded software development on constrained devices

  • Strong Skills in C and python

  • Background in electronics: understanding schematics, datasheets

  • Understanding of software quality and practice of project management tools such as version control using git, continuous integration, unit tests, etc.

 

Benefits package

You will work on emerging research activities with recognized international IoT actors.

You will work in a stimulating and pleasant work environment (transport participation (50%), on-site catering, teleworking, leave and special leave of absence (45 days), video conference equipment, technical laboratory for experimentation ...)

You can benefit from quality training adapted to your needs and skills, whether technical, methodological or linguistic. 

In addition to improving your technical skills, Inria offers you the opportunity to develop your entrepreneurial skills by participating in awareness-raising events and training courses on the creation of start-ups (start-up horizon, intellectual property training, hackAthec, etc.). https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio

For international candidates, our administrative services will help you with the various administrative procedures (visa, residence permit, social security, housing, bank, etc.)

Remuneration

Remuneration according to profile (public service grid)

2021-03770 - Ingénieur IoT embarqué (H/F)

Type de contrat : CDD

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Bac + 5 ou équivalent

Fonction : Ingénieur scientifique contractuel

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre Inria Lille Nord-Europe, créé en 2008, est implanté sur deux sites : à la Haute-Borne, au cœur du campus universitaire, et à EuraTechnologies, au sein de l’écosystème entrepreneurial. Il compte 14 équipes de recherche, 320 personnes dont 280 scientifiques. Ses équipes ont contribué à l’accompagnement d’une vingtaine de projets d’entreprise, dont 8 start-up qui ont vu le jour depuis sa création.

Reconnu pour son implication forte dans le développement socio-économique sur le territoire des Hauts-de-France, Inria s’engage, aux côtés de ses partenaires académiques, institutionnels et industriels, sur les grands chantiers de recherche et d’innovation dans le domaine du numérique.

Contexte et atouts du poste

L'équipe Inria FUN imagine des solutions permettant d'améliorer la programmation, lesperformences, l'adptabilité et la facilité d'utilisation des  UN (Future Ubiquitous Networks), réseaux sans fil contraints,mobiles et dynamiques.   http://team.inria.fr/fun/

L'ingénieur rejoindra une équipe dynamique de chercheurs et ingénieurs travaillant sur le développement d'une solution IoT de bout en bout dédiée au transport maritime qui doit aujourd'hui faire face à une augmentation de sa capacité et à des exigences légales de plus en plus fortes,le poussant à devenir plus vert et à limiter la perte de containers en mer. La solution envisagée par notre équipevtire avantage d'un nouveau système de radiolocalisation temps réel avec une cartographie automatique du plan de charge des containers pour identifier et localisaer toute anomalie comme un incendie ou une chute. 

Ces dernières années, la technologie Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) est devenue la base de la radiolocalisation [1,2] basée sur la mesure de distance grâce à l'estimation robuste du temps de vol entre les nœuds mobiles (tags) et les nœuds fixes (ancres). Contrairement aux approches RSSI, telles qu'utilisées dans BLE par exemple [3,4], la métrique adoptée est plus robuste aux trajets multiples et repose sur une électronique dédiée pour la synchronisation d'horloge et la mesure du temps de vol.

Aujourd'hui, il fait partie intégrante de la norme IEEE 802.15.4 au niveau physique et sa croissance le positionne comme une nouvelle technologie dans les futurs smartphones. En effet, il complètera les puces Bluetooth existantes en offrant une capacité de mesure de distance précise utile par exemple pour le tracking [5] (pandémies par exemple) ou toute autre application de type LBS (Location-Based Services). Le fabricant Decawave, à l'origine des puces radio Scensor (DWM1000), a introduit des modules radio certifiés [6,7] exposant les canaux BLE et UWB dans le même chipset tout en intégrant les antennes.

Cela ouvre de nouvelles possibilités pour l'IoT industriel (IIoT), non seulement dans le monde industriel mais aussi au-delà. La radiolocalisation basée sur des mesures de distance est un sujet de recherche bien étudié [8], mais on sait qu'une approche unifiée, comme c'est le cas pour le GPS, n'est pas disponible dans le commerce et que pour bénéficier de la technologie, des optimisations doit être réalisées sur mesure en fonction du contexte d'application visé. En particulier, cela nécessite d'évaluer les performances de la mesure de distance dans le cadre de l'application et de concevoir voire adapter des algorithmes de radiolocalisation.

Dans ce domaine, Inria détient deux brevets [9,10] dans le domaine de la radiolocalisation. L'utilisation de [10] serait notamment étudiée pour mettre en œuvre tout ou partie de la solution au problème de reconstruction de maillage par des mesures de distance.

References:

[1] Mendoza-Silva, G. M., Torres-Sospedra, J., & Huerta, J. (2019). A meta-review of indoor positioning systems. Sensors, 19(20), 4507.


 [2]  Ruiz, A. R. J., & Granja, F. S. (2017). Comparing ubisense, bespoon, and decawave uwb location systems: Indoor performance analysis. IEEE Transactions on instrumentation and Measurement, 66(8), 2106-2117.

[3] Thaljaoui, A., Val, T., Nasri, N., & Brulin, D. (2015, March). BLE localization using RSSI measurements and iRingLA. In 2015 IEEE international conference on industrial technology (ICIT) (pp. 2178-2183). IEEE.

[4] Jeon, K. E., She, J., Soonsawad, P., & Ng, P. C. (2018). Ble beacons for internet of things applications: Survey, challenges, and opportunities. IEEE Internet of Things Journal, 5(2), 811-828.


 [5] Nguyen, C. T., Saputra, Y. M., Van Huynh, N., Nguyen, N. T., Khoa, T. V., Tuan, B. M., ... & Ottersten, B. (2020). A comprehensive survey of enabling and emerging technologies for social distancing — Part I: Fundamentals and enabling technologies. IEEE Access, 8, 153479-153507. — Part II: Emerging technologies and open issues. IEEE Access, 8, 154209-154236.

[6] Module DWM100, Qorvo. url: https://www.decawave.com/product/dwm1001-module/


 [7] Simedroni, R., Puschita, E., Palade, T., Dolea, P., Codau, C., Buta, R., & Pastrav, A. (2020, February). Indoor Positioning using Decawave MDEK1001. In 2020 International Workshop on Antenna Technology (iWAT) (pp. 1-4). IEEE.

[8] Brena, R. F., García-Vázquez, J. P., Galván-Tejada, C. E., Muñoz-Rodriguez, D., Vargas-Rosales, C., & Fangmeyer, J. (2017). Evolution of indoor positioning technologies: A survey. Journal of Sensors, 2017.

[9] Localisation mono-ancre à réseau d’antennes dans un réseau informatique sans fil. Roudy Dagher, Nathalie Mitton France, N° de brevet : FR1552747. 2015

Mission confiée

L'ingénieur rejoindra une équipe dynamique de chercheurs et d'ingénieurs travaillant sur le développement d'une solution IoT de bout en bout pour le vertical du transport maritime qui est aujourd'hui mis au défi par l'augmentation de la capacité de transport maritime ainsi que par les exigences réglementaires poussant à réduire l'impact environnemental dû à la perte de conteneurs en mer. La solution envisagée s'appuie sur l'utilisation d'une nouvelle auto-localisation en temps réel avec une cartographie automatique du dispositif-conteneur, utile pour identifier et localiser une anomalie telle qu'un incendie ou une chute.

Le candidat coordonnera le développement matériel et logiciel des équipements IoT au coeur de notre plateforme IoT. Cette activité est centrale dans le développement de la solution complète et combine leréseau maillé BLE et les technologies de mesures de distance à base d'UWB pour la radiolocalisation automatique en environnements hostiles bas coût età faible empreinte énergétique. 

 

Principales activités

Le candidat sera en charge 

  • du développement du Firmware sur un RTOS embarqué exposant les piles de communication BLE et UWB

  • de mener des expériences sur la plateforme d'expérimentation  FIT IoT-Lab platform

  • de déployer des expériences en grandeur réelle, de l'évaluation et de la collecte de jeux de données de référence

  • de participer à la conception Hardware du prototype et de suivre sa production

  • du développement de la passerelle pour integration avec la plateforme IoT et le cloud

Compétences

  • Connaissance en réseaux decapteurs sans fil et expérience dans au moins l'un des protocoles de la pile IEEE 802.15.4 standard: BLE, Zigbee, 6LowPan, 6TiSCH, UWB ranging

  • Fortes compétences en développement de logiciel embarqué 

  • Fortes compétences en  C et python

  • Compétences en électroniques : comprendre les  schematics, datasheets

  • Compréhension et utilisation d'outils de management de projets et de versionning tels que  git, continuous integration, unit tests, etc.

 

Avantages

Vous travaillerez sur des activités de recherche émergentes avec des acteurs internationaux reconnus de l'IoT.

Vous travaillerez dans un environnement de travail stimulant et agréable (participation aux transports (50%), restauration sur place, télétravail, congés et autorisations spéciales d'absence (45 jours), équipement de visioconférence, laboratoire technique d'expérimentation...).

Vous pouvez bénéficier d'une formation de qualité adaptée à vos besoins et à vos compétences, qu'elles soient techniques, méthodologiques ou linguistiques.

En plus d'améliorer vos compétences techniques, Inria vous offre la possibilité de développer vos compétences entrepreneuriales en participant à des événements de sensibilisation et des formations sur la création de start-up (horizon start-up, formation à la propriété intellectuelle, hackAthec, etc.). https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio

Pour les candidats internationaux, nos services administratifs vous aideront dans vos différentes démarches administratives (visa, permis de séjour, sécurité sociale, logement, banque, etc.)

Rémunération

Rémunération selon profil (grille de la fonction publique)