2022-05105 - Post-Doctoral Research Visit F/M Emissions mapping & analysis of a geo-distributed computing infrastructure in comparison to centralised architectures

Contract type : Fixed-term contract

Level of qualifications required : PhD or equivalent

Fonction : Post-Doctoral Research Visit

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Lille - Nord Europe research centre, created in 2008, has a staff of 360, including 305 scientists in 15 research teams. Recognised for its strong involvement in the socio-economic development of the Hauts-De-France region, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe research centre pursues a close relationship with large companies and SMEs. By promoting synergies between researchers and industrialists, Inria participates in the transfer of skills and expertise in digital technologies and provides access to the best European and international research for the benefit of innovation and companies, particularly in the region.


For more than 10 years, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe centre has been located at the heart of Lille's university and scientific ecosystem, as well as at the heart of Frenchtech, with a technology showroom based on Avenue de Bretagne in Lille, on the EuraTechnologies site of economic excellence dedicated to information and communication technologies (ICT).

Context

The joint challenge between Inria and Qarnot aims to develop and promote best practices in geo-distributed hardware and software infrastructures for intensive computing with a reduced environmental footprint.

This project aims to quantify the difference in the environmental footprint of two models, it will not in itself directly reduce the carbon footprint, but will allow the calculation of carbon footprint reductions of other projects in the challenge.

Assignment

This project aims to develop two models to compare the environmental impact of a centralised and a decentralised computing service.

The two models should be based on the same assumptions and follow methodologies that are as close as possible in order to achieve directly comparable results.

The project will not be limited to modelling the operational carbon footprint of the service, but will also include :

  • all peripheral services requested by the calculation, i.e. storage and network services, etc.
  • all the peripheral infrastructures concerned by the calculation, i.e. the land of the data centre, data transport, etc.
  • the analysis of the life cycle of the system,
  • the entire environmental footprint: in addition to carbon and greenhouse gas emissions, the impact on rare metals, on water, on soil pollution, etc.
  • more qualitative data to develop a case for the most virtuous model

Main activities

The researcher will have to understand these different subjects through a consequent bibliographical research. The researcher will then have to work on the modelling of each of these paradigms using the most suitable tools. It will be potentially desirable to propose several qualities of models, for example an advanced model and a simpler model. In all cases, it will be essential to produce a model that is easy to use and modify, a priori in the form of an Excel file.

In addition, it will be necessary to develop a more qualitative argument for the most virtuous model.

Skills

Software development: JAVA / Python

Cloud technology

Teamwork

Benefits package

  • You will join a dynamic team of international scientific experts in the field of distributed systems and software engineering (https://team.inria.fr/spirals/);
  • You will work on emerging research activities with internationally recognised cloud computing players in the context of European collaborations and projects of the Spirals team;
  • You will work in a stimulating and pleasant working environment (transport participation (50%), on-site catering; teleworking; leave and special leave of absence (45 days), video-conferencing equipment, technical laboratory for experimentation...);
  • You will be able to benefit from quality training adapted to your needs and skills, whether technical, methodological or linguistic;
  • In addition to improving your technical skills, Inria offers you the opportunity to develop your entrepreneurial skills by participating in awareness-raising events and training courses on the creation of start-ups (start-up horizon, intellectual property training, hackAthon... https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio);
  • For international candidates, our administrative services will help you with the various administrative procedures (visa, residence permit, social security, housing, bank, etc.).

Remuneration

2 653€ gross salary

2022-05105 - Post-Doctorant F/H Cartographie & analyse des émissions d'une infrastructure de calcul géo-répartie en comparaison des architectures centralisées

Type de contrat : CDD

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Thèse ou équivalent

Fonction : Post-Doctorant

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe, créé en 2008, compte 360 personnes dont 305 scientifiques répartis dans 15 équipes de recherche. Reconnu pour son implication forte dans le développement socio-économique sur le territoire des Hauts-De-France, le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe poursuit une démarche de proximité avec les grandes entreprises et les PME. En favorisant ainsi les synergies entre chercheurs et industriels, Inria participe au transfert de compétences et d’expertises dans les technologies numériques et donne accès aux meilleures recherches européennes et internationales au bénéfice de l’innovation et des entreprises notamment en région.


Depuis plus de 10 ans, le centre Inria Lille – Nord Europe est installé au coeur de l’écosystème universitaire et scientifique lillois ainsi qu’au coeur de la Frenchtech avec un showroom technologique, basé avenue de Bretagne à Lille, sur le site d’excellence économique consacré aux technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) qu’est EuraTechnologies.

Contexte et atouts du poste

Le défi commun entre Inria et Qarnot ambitionne de développer et promouvoir les bonnes pratiques en matière d’infrastructures matérielles et logicielles géo-réparties pour un calcul intensif avec une empreinte environnementale réduite.

Ce projet a pour objectif de quantifier la différence d’empreinte environnementale de deux modèles, elle ne permettra pas en soi directement de réduire l’empreinte carbone, mais permettra de calculer les réductions d’empreinte carbone des autres projets du défi.

Mission confiée

Ce projet vise à développer deux modèles permettant de comparer l’impact environnemental d’un service de calcul centralisé et d’un service de calcul décentralisé.

Ces deux modèles devront s’appuyer sur les mêmes hypothèses et suivre des méthodologies aussi proches que possible afin de pouvoir aboutir à des résultats directement comparables.

Ce projet ne se limitera pas à la modélisation de l’empreinte carbone opérationnelle du service, mais incluera également:

  • l’ensemble des services périphériques sollicités par le calcul, à savoir les services de stockage et de réseau, etc.
  • l’ensemble des infrastructures périphériques concernées par le calcul, à savoir le foncier du \emph{data-center}, le transport de données, etc.
  • l’analyse du cycle de vie du système,
  • l’ensemble de l’empreinte environnementale: en plus des émissions carbone et de gaz à effet de serre, l’impact sur les métaux rares, sur l’eau, sur la pollution des sols, etc.
  • des données plus qualitatives permettant de développer un argumentaire pour le modèle le plus vertueux

Principales activités

Le chercheur devra appréhender ces différents sujets à travers une recherche bibliographique conséquente. Il devra ensuite s’atteler à la modélisation de chacun de ces paradigmes en passant par les outils les plus adaptés. Il sera potentiellement souhaitable de proposer plusieurs qualités de modèles, par exemple un modèle poussé et un modèle plus simple. Dans tous les cas, il sera indispensable de produire un modèle facile à utiliser et à modifier, a priori sous la forme d’un fichier Excel.

Par ailleurs, il s’agira enfin de développer un argumentaire plus qualitatif pour le modèle le plus vertueux.

Compétences

Développement logiciel : JAVA / Python

Technologie du cloud

Travail en équipe

Avantages

  • Vous intégrerez une équipe dynamique composée d’experts scientifiques internationaux dans le domaine des systèmes répartis et du génie logiciel (https://team.inria.fr/spirals/);

  • Vous travaillerez sur des activités de recherche émergents avec des acteurs internationaux reconnus du cloud computing dans le contexte de collaborations et projets européens de l’équipe Spirals;

  • Vous travaillerez dans un environnement de travail stimulant et agréable (participation transport (50%), restauration sur site ; télétravail ; congé et autorisation spéciale absence (45 jours), équipement visio conférence, laboratoire technique d’expérimentation…);

  • Vous pourrez bénéficier de formations de qualité adaptées à vos besoins et appétences, aussi bien techniques que méthodologiques ou linguistiques;

  • Au-delà de l’amélioration de vos compétences techniques, Inria vous offre l’opportunité de développer vos compétences entrepreneuriales en participant à des évènements de sensibilisation et à des formations sur la création de start-up  (horizon start up, formation propriété intellectuelle, hackAthon… https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio);

  • Pour les candidats internationaux, nos services administratifs vous accompagnent dans les différentes démarches administratives (visa, titre de séjour, sécurité sociale, logement, banque…).

Rémunération

2 653€ brut mensuel